# COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES 9/10 CENTER AUDITORIUM DECEMBER 26, 2013 – 5:00 P.M.

### **OPENING ACTIVITIES**

# 1. CALL TO ORDER AT 5:38 P.M.

# 2. READING OF MISSION STATEMENT

THE MISSION OF THE COATESVILLE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT IS TO PROVIDE EDUCATIONAL EXCELLENCE BY PREPARING STUDENTS WITH THE SKILLS NECESSARY TO BECOME LIFE-LONG LEARNERS AND RESPONSIBLE MEMBERS OF SOCIETY.

# 3. ADVISEMENT

By notice of the President, Board Members are advised that all votes shall be regarded as roll call votes. The minutes should also note that public notice was given for this meeting in accordance with Act 93 of 1998, Section 1. School Board meetings shall proceed in accordance with School Board policy.

### 4. ROLL CALL

#### **Board of School Directors**

J. Neil Campbell, President - present
James L. Fox, Vice President - present
Diane M. Brownfield - present
Stuart C. Deets - present
Paul L. Johnson - absent
Laurie C. Knecht - present
Kimberly M. Mammel - present
Richard M. Ritter - present

Deborah L. Thompson - present

# **Administration**

Dr. Leonard D. Fitts, Interim Superintendent of Schools - present

Ronald G. Kabonick, Director of Business Administration | School Board Secretary - present

Abdallah Hawa, Director of Technology - absent

Dave Krakower, Director of High School & Curriculum Instruction | Special Education (6-12) - present

Jason Palaia, Director of Elementary Education (3-5) | Special Education (K-5) - present

Dr. Teresa Powell, Director of Middle School Education & Curriculum Instruction - present

John Reid, Director of Pupil Services/Data & Assessment - present

Dr. Angelo Romaniello, Jr., Assistant Superintendent - absent

Erika Zeigler, Director of Human Resources - absent

#### **Solicitor**

James E. Ellison, Esquire - present

### 5. MOMENT OF SILENCE AND SALUTE TO THE FLAG

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

6)

Anyone interested in reviewing the public's comments may contact the Board Secretary to request access to the digital recording. Public Comments were made by the following:

1)	Jarrett Jackson	7)	Jeff Guy
2)	Alphonso Newsuan	8)	Catrina Wilson
3)	Bob Saucier	9)	Charles Kramer
4)	Linda Hutchinson	10)	Keith Smith
5)	Nancy Miller	11)	Clarence Norris

# MOTION ITEM(S) FOR APPROVAL

Ronald Miller

# 1. Amendment to June 22, 2010 Resolution of the Board of School Directors

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors hereby approve adoption of a Resolution, amending a certain Debt Resolution duly adopted by the Board of School Directors of the School District on June 22, 2013 (the "2010 Resolution"), authorizing and approving, inter alia, the issuance of General Obligation Bonds, Series of 2010 (the "2010 Bonds"), to modify and expand the purposes set forth in the 2010 Resolution to enable the School District to utilize unspent and available proceeds of the 2010 Bonds, to be applied to finance certain capital projects, including, but not limited to (i) the purchase and acquisition of real property located within the School District, and as thereafter deemed necessary, the planning, design, engineering, purchase, acquisition, construction and equipping and furnishing, as applicable, of improvements thereon, for use as administrative offices and a healthcare center, and (ii) the acquisition, design, construction, furnishing and equipping of alterations, additions, renovations and improvements to the School District's other existing school buildings and facilities, as funds may be available (collectively, the "Capital Project"), and authorizing and directing School District officials to undertake the necessary steps and to take necessary action relating thereto. (Enclosure)

Vote: 5-3-0

#### 2. Appointment of Solicitor

Motion: Neil Campbell

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors appoints James E. Ellison, Esquire, Solicitor of the Coatesville Area School District.

Second: Laurie Knecht

Motion: Neil Campbell Second: Laurie Knecht Vote: 7-1-0

Amendment to the June 22, 2010 Resolution of the Board of School Directors

Approved Vote: 5-3-0

Opposed: Deets, Mammel & Thompson

Appointment of Solicitor

Approved

Vote: 7-1-0 Opposed: Thompson

# 3. Approval of Resolution Agreement and Release

**RECOMMENDED MOTION:** That the Board of School Directors approves the Resolution Agreement and Release between the Coatesville Area School District and Richard W. Como. (*Enclosure*)

Approval of Resolution Agreement & Release

Approved
Vote: 7-1-0
Opposed: Mammel

Motion: Diane Brownfield Second: Jim Fox Vote: 7-1-0

# **PUBLIC COMMENT**

Anyone interested in reviewing the public's comments may contact the Board Secretary to request access to the digital recording. Public Comments were made by the following:

- Jarrett Jackson
   Alphonso Newsuan
   Ethel Carter
   Rob Tompkins
   Safiya Edwards
   Ron Suber
- 4) Linda Lavender Norris

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Respectfully submitted,

This meeting was adjourned at 7:18 p.m. on a motion by Neil Campbell and seconded by Diane Brownfield.

Karen Jackson, Recording Secretary

Ronald G. Kabonick, School Board Secretary

If any Board Member or member of the public wishes to review the minutes verbatim, please contact the School Board Secretary and make arrangements to come to the District Office and listen to the meeting tapes.